Home | SA Soccer News | Swallows News | Chat Forum | Chat Forum Help |

Today on MorokaSwallows:

     Swallows News
    SA Soccer News

    Chat Forum
     Fixtures & Results
     PSL Standings
     Ladies League
     Supporters Club
     Club Information
     Social Responsibility
     Contact us
Josephs, Sheppard Receive Call-Ups 06/06/03
Ajax Cape Town have two representatives from the club in the 29-man South African squad to face Trinidad and Tobago in an international friendly in Port Elizabeth on June 14 and then the Ivory Coast in a African Cup of Nations qualifier a week later in Polokwane.

Goalkeeper Moeneeb Josephs and midfielder Dillon Sheppard have been asked to join the squad by national coach Shakes Mashaba and both will be confident of getting some game-time in the first match at least.

Josephs especially deserves a run after being selected for all the Bafana squads so far this year, but has failed to dislodge national captain Brian Baloyi.

But after being voted the Players' Player of the Year by his fellow professionals at the annual Premier Soccer League awards dinner on Wednesday, Mashaba must be seriously thinking about handing the --year-old a first cap.

Sheppard is widely regarded up and down the country as one of the most naturally gifted midfielders in South Africa, but he has seen his chances at national level hindered by a host of overseas stars who ply their trade in some of the top leagues in Europe.

For this reason, Sheppard may have to wait a while longer for a run out with the likes of Quinton Fortune (Manchester United), Delron Buckley (FC Bochum), Japhet Zwane (Rostov), Steven Pienaar (Ajax Amsterdam) and Sibusiso Zuma (FC Copenhagen) all vying for places in a four-man midfield.

The Bafana squad is:

Goalkeepers: Brian Baloyi (Kaizer Chiefs), Moeneeb Joseph (Ajax Cape Town), Andre Arendse (Santos)

Defenders: Mbulelo Mabizela (Orlando Pirates), Thabang Molefe (Jomo Cosmos), Lucky Lekgwathi (Orlando Pirates), Aaron Mokoena (Germinal Beerschot), Tony Coyle (Wits University), Bradley Carnell (M'Gladbach), Jacob Lekgetho (Lokomotiv Moscow)

Midfielders: Quinton Fortune (Manchester United), Stanton Fredericks (Kaizer Chiefs), Tebogo Mokoena (Jomo Cosmos), Clement Mazibuko (Bush Bucks), Jabulani Mendu (Kaizer Chiefs), Delron Buckley (FC Bochum), Dillon Sheppard (Ajax Cape Town), Japhet Zwane (Rostov), Steven Pienaar (Ajax Amsterdam), Godfrey Sepula (Sundowns), Benson Mhlongo (Wits University), Hleza Mofedi (Orlando Pirates), Sibusiso Zuma (FC Copenhagen).

Strikers: Lesley Manyathela (Orlando Pirates), Shaun Bartlett (Charlton Athletic), Benni McCarthy (Celta Vigo), Siyabonga Nomvete (Udinese), David Radebe (Kaizer Chiefs), Tyren Arendse (Santos)

Chiefs Reverse Spurs Decision

Big Issue Team Finish Seventh

Pirates Hit Back At Ajax Claims

Lucas On Comeback Trail

Bafana Bafana Team Announced

Ajax To Fight For Muamba

Big Issue Team Continue Good Run

Player Interview : Shaun Potgieter

Big Clear-Out At Pirates

Birds Sign Permall

Rangers Sign Isaks From Birds

Kaizer Chiefs Wont Face Spurs

Igesund Concerned Over Call-Ups

Big Issue Team Doing S.A. Proud

Clement Mazibuko Joins Brazilians

Home | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright | Images supplied by Touchline Photo| Designed by 365