Van Wyk wins Ladies Award

Moroka Swallows' glittering annual Awards ceremony, which took place at the Birchwood Hotel on Wednesday evening, not only belonged to the senior Men's side - but also to the Swallows Ladies, who have performed wonders this season in their regional SAFA Provincial Women's League.

The Player of the Year Award went to Janine van Wyk, whose consistency and brilliant form saw her being selected for the South African women's senior national squad, 'Banyana Banyana'.

Van Wyk topped a wonderful season by also picking up the Players' Player of the Year Award, her second on the evening. She took home a total of R15,000 for her efforts this season.

Her fellow Banyana Banyana team-mate, Belinda Nkosi, received the Top Goal-Scorer of the Year Award, along with R5,000 in prize money.

The Most Improved Award was awarded to Phumzile Mokgomane and Mamiki Twala, both of whom will share the R5,000 prize.

- Sekgaile - 'I'm proud to be a 'Bird'!'
- 'Seven seconds with' Bevan Fransman
- 'Birds' open day a success
- Etafia injury-blow for Swallows
- 'Birds' stars to attend open day!
For more information please visit

October 21
Castle Premiership:
Swallows v Leopards
KO: 8pm
Venue: Germiston Stadium

September 23
Castle Premiership:
lost 0-2 v Celtic
Venue: Seisa Ramabodu

September 16
Castle Premiership:
Drew 1-1 v Arrows
Venue: Germiston Stadium

September 2
Castle Premiership:
Drew 1-1 v Santos
Venue: Athlone Stadium

August 26
Castle Premiership:
Drew 0-0 v Sundowns
Venue: Germiston Stadium

August 18
SAA Supa 8:
Lost 1-2 v SuperSport
Venue: Olympia Stadium

August 15
Castle Premiership:
Won 1-0 v Pirates
Venue: Ellis Park Stadium

Who will be Swallows' top goal-scorer this season?

Sandile Ndlovu
Songwe Chalwe
Evans Gwekwerere
James Chamanga