'Birds' prepare for Year-End Awards

Moroka Swallows' prolific striker Mame Niang is one of the players set to be rewarded when the 'Beautiful Birds' host their 2005/06 Year-End Award ceremony at the Birchwood Executive Hotel in Boksburg on Wednesday evening at 7pm.

The Senegalese striker, who is the team's leading goal-scorer, will walk away with a trophy and R7,500 for his troubles.

The other awards to be made are as follows:
Player of the Year - R20,000
Players' Player of the Year - R20,000
Most Improved Player - R7,500
VW Award - R10,000

The 'Birds' ladies will also received awards, as well, and theirs are as follows:
Player of the Year - R7,500
Players' Player of the Year - R7,500
Most Improved Player - R5,000
Top Goal-Scorer - R5,000

Commenting on these Awards, Birds PRO Sipho Xulu said: "This season has been the most difficult one for us. The players and technical staff have to be commended for a job well done.

"I mean, we played without a home ground and our squad was constantly changed because of injuries.

"But in the end we managed to occupy fourth position in the Castle Premiership standings - this is a marvellous achievement."

- Fan puts her cash where her mouth is
- Preview - Amazulu v Bloem Celtic
- Can Leopards stop Pepe's Samba?
- Preview - Golden Arrows v Santos
- Preview - Ajax CT v Maritzburg
- Preview - Chiefs v Swallows
- Preview - Jomo Cosmos v Silver Stars
- PSL pays last respects to Kambule
- No suprises at Moriri's commitment
- Preview - BP United v Orlando Pirates

Wednesday, November 8
Castle Premiership
Swallows v BidVest Wits
Venue: Germiston Stadium

Saturday, November 11
Castle Premiership
Kaizer Chiefs v Swallows
Venue: FNB Stadium

Wednesday, November 22
Telkom Knockout
Ajax Cape Town v Swallows
Venue: Greenpoint Stadium

Sunday, November 5
Telkom Knockout
1-2 v BP United
Venue: Germiston Stadium

Sunday, October 22
Castle Premiership
1-0 v Arrows
Venue: King Zwelithini

Sunday, October 15
Castle Premiership
1-2 v Cosmos
Venue: Germiston Stadium

How far will Swallows finish this season
First position
Top three
Top eight